top of page
  • Writer's pictureElaine Gao

Toxicity

Here is another one one my proudest poems. I don't ask that you necessarily like it; I just hope that it can jog your emotions in one way or another. Having said that, here it goes:


You aver to me your fidelity: “I’d never cheat!”

I don’t doubt that; you love me as your one and only

As your life force, I can't leave, nor peel you off 

Only to tend and to nourish

Till the point where you suck me empty.


You quarrelsome wife whom I refuse to live with

You won’t catch me on the roof, for I will get away.

Your love I might sense and even warm towards

But I am no filter; I don’t tolerate lukewarm

You are either in or out, 100% or nothing at all

It is not in my nature to absorb half

And keep out the other half of ugly residue


Yet all along it is I in the folly.

Rebuking the splatters on your face

While I drown in my own mawkish tears.

Me, the spoiled daughter of a noble lord and lady,

I demand that dolls obey, or I rip out their stuffings.

They ought to please the will of their hostess.


Your love is pure in flecks, muddied in others.;

Mine is the rose in the Beast’s garden

Whose thorns prick if you dare to step out of the line

Which is better, which is worse? 

Which is utterly toxic?


34 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page